New Release Tuesday: April 17th

Middle grade fiction spanning historical romance to modern-day reckoning with police brutality, adult fiction wrestling with traditional and modern identities, and near-future sports sci-fi meets gritty cop procedural. 

Ghost Boys Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316262286
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 17th, 2018

Highly anticipated new middle grade fiction in the footsteps of The Hate U Give, Ghost Boys tells the story of Jerome, a 12 year old boy shot by police while holding a toy gun. As a ghost, he meets Emmett Till, who helps Jerome process what has happened, on a journey towards recognizing how historical racism may have led to the events that ended his life. Jerome also meets Sarah, the daughter of the police officer, who grapples with her father's actions.

“Ghost Boys is a devastating novel. But it is also hopeful, full of compassion, and a compelling case for the fact that 'we can all do better, be better, live better.' Jerome's story is heartbreaking, and the telling of it is necessary, just as the telling of Emmett Till's story is necessary, though it so often goes untold. Rhodes has crafted a beautiful novel that will facilitate many conversations with young people; Ghost Boys is essential for the middle school classroom as well as for family discussion. This is a novel to be shared with children; read it with them, discuss it with them, and together we can gain the tools we need in order to live better.” 
— Michelle Cavalier, Cavalier House Books, Denham Springs, LA


Disoriental Cover Image
By Negar Djavadi, Tina Kover (Translator)
$18.00
ISBN: 9781609454517
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 2-6 business days
Published: Europa Editions - April 17th, 2018

For readers of Persepolis by Marjane Sartrapi and Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing, this high-spirited, kaleidoscopic story of family drama and triumph is punctuated by key moments of Iranian history, politics, and culture. Yet it is Kimiâ herself––punk-rock aficionado, storyteller extraordinaire, a Scheherazade of our time, and above all a modern woman divided between family traditions and her own “disorientalization”––who forms the heart of this bestselling and beloved novel.

"Djavadi has given us a broad-ranging, far-reaching portrait of the human condition in all its agony and ecstasy, but she has told it through the lives and perspectives of a family we might easily imagine having over for an evening of dinner and board games. I love the Sadrs as if they were real people, and I think readers will too… Translating Disoriental has been one of the greatest honors of my professional life so far. The genius of this story is that it acknowledges and celebrates what makes us different while, at its heart, painting in exquisite detail what binds us. I don't think it's too much to say that, if enough people read Disoriental the world might actually become a better place." -Tina Kover, translator of Disoriental


Love & War: The Alex & Eliza Trilogy Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781524739652
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 2-6 business days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - April 17th, 2018

The sequel to de la Cruz's Alex & Eliza: A Love Story, and perfect for fans of Nicol Yoon's Everything, Everything, Death Comes to Pemberly by P. D. James, and (of course), the hit broadway musical Hamilton.

As the war for American independence rages on, Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler begin their new life as a married couple. Still, Alex is as determined as ever to prove his mettle and secure his legacy…even if that means leaving his beloved Eliza behind to join the front lines at the Battle of Yorktown. But when the war unexpectedly arrives on Eliza’s doorstep, she must fight for a better future—for their fledgling country and for her marriage.


Head On: A Novel of the Near Future Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780765388919
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - April 17th, 2018

John Scalzi returns with Head On, the stand-alone follow-up to Lock In. Chilling near-future sci-fi with the thrills of a gritty cop procedural, Head On brings Scalzi's trademark snappy dialogue and technological speculation to the future world of sports.

Hilketa is a frenetic and violent pastime where players attack each other with swords and hammers. The main goal of the game: obtain your opponent’s head and carry it through the goalposts. With flesh and bone bodies, a sport like this would be impossible. But all the players are “threeps,” robot-like bodies controlled by people with Haden’s Syndrome, so anything goes. No one gets hurt, but the brutality is real and the crowds love it.

Until a star athlete drops dead on the playing field. Is it an accident or murder? FBI agents and Haden-related crime investigators Chris Shane and Leslie Vann are called in to uncover the truth—and in doing so travel to the darker side of the fast-growing sport of Hilketa, where fortunes are made or lost, and where players and owners do whatever it takes to win, on and off the field.