Jerry Nelson: DEAR COUNTY AGENT GUY

Date: 
Tuesday, June 21, 2016 - 7:00pm
Location: 

Dragonfly Books is pleased to host humorist and columnist Jerry Nelson with his new book Dear County Agent Guy: Calf Pulling, Husband Training, and Other Curious Dispatches from a Midwestern Dairy Farmer. Jerry will sign books and share his stories as an ex-dairy farmer on Tuesday, June 21st at 7:00 pm at Dragonfly Books.


Equal parts humor and heart, Dear County Agent Guy (Workman 2016) is a unique look at a distinctly American way of life. Including essays, musings, and observations of life in the Midwest, Jerry Nelson’s stories are a must-read for fans of Michael Perry and Dave Barry.

A fourth-generation dairy farmer, Jerry Nelson discovered his voice while composing a humorously formal letter of complaint about the weather to his friend Mel Kloster, local county agent. Thus was born Jerry’s weekly column, “Dear County Agent Guy” and his beloved persona as a taciturn husband with a twinkle in his eye, commenting on the life around him.

Dear County Agent Guy is the collected stories of courtship from the point of view of a Norwegian bachelor farmer. Childbirth, wherein Jerry volunteers to help the doctor by lending him a calf puller. Family, in a story golden with memory about Jerry and his sons exploring an abandoned homestead. The duties of a husband -- including exactly why it is that a man who spends days dodging cow pies can’t change a baby’s diaper. By turns humorous, poignant, homespun, and wise, Jerry beautifully portrays the American heartland.

In addition to his weekly column, Jerry Nelson’s writing appears in the nation’s top farming magazines including Successful Farming, Farm Journal, Progressive Farmer, and Living the Country Life. Jerry and his wife, Julie, live in Volga, South Dakota, on the farm that Jerry’s great-grandfather homesteaded in the 1880s.

Join Dragonfly Books for this opportunity to hear from Jerry Nelson on Tuesday, June 21st at 7:00 pm at Dragonfly Books. If you find that you can't make it to the event but would still like to purchase one of Jerry’s books, just give Dragonfly Books a call at 563-382-4275. One of their staff will be glad to reserve a book and have it autographed for you.

This event is sponsored by Dragonfly Books at 112 W. Water St., Decorah and is free and open to the public. To learn more about this and other events at Dragonfly Books, please visit www.dragonflybooks.com, or contact us at events@dragonflybooks.com or 563-382-4275.


Dear County Agent Guy: Calf Pulling, Husband Training, and Other Curious Dispatches from a Midwestern Dairy Farmer Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780761187271
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually arrives in 2-6 business days
Published: Workman Publishing Company - May 3rd, 2016

“Jerry Nelson’s column comes from the true heart of the Midwest. He has the true voice, the slow twang. He knows wheat from barley.


Event Requests


If you are interested in scheduling an event, contact our Events Coordinator using our Event Request Form.