Bryan Bliss: We'll Fly Away

Date: 
Thursday, November 8, 2018 - 7:00pm
Location: 
Dragonfly Books
Cost: 
Free!

Dragonfly Books invites everyone to a free author talk and book signing with young adult author Bryan Bliss. Recently long-listed for the National Book Award, Bliss’s new novel We’ll Fly Away expertly unravels the series of events that landed a teenager in jail. Bliss will talk about We’ll Fly Away, share his stories, and sign copies of his books on Thursday, November 8 at 7:00 pm at Dragonfly Books.


During Bliss’s trip to NE Iowa, he will also visit three area schools and talk to students about writing, life as an author, and his books.

Uniquely told through letters from death row and third-person narrative, We’ll Fly Away follows best friends Luke and Toby, who just want to get out of their dead-end town. Wanting to leave behind Luke’s neglectful mom, her latest deadbeat boyfriend, Toby’s petty-criminal dad, the teachers who all look the other way, the fridges that never have enough food inside, they are so close to freedom. Until they each make a choice -- a series of choices, really -- that sets them down an irrevocable path.

Tense and emotional, We’ll Fly Away explores family, abuse, sex, love, friendship, and the lengths a person will go to protect the people they love.

In addition to We’ll Fly Away, Bryan Bliss is the author of the two young adult novels Meet Me Here and No Parking at the End Times. He holds a master’s degree in theology and fiction and -- shockingly -- found a professional job that allows him to use both of those degrees. His political philosophy degree, however, is still underutilized.

Bliss works as a curriculum designer and developer. He lives in St. Paul, MN with his wife and two children, both of whom wish he wrote books about dragons. Or wizards.

If you find that you can't make it to this free event but would still like to purchase one of Bliss’s books, just give Dragonfly Books a call at 563-382-4275. One of their staff will be glad to reserve a book and have it autographed for you.

This event is sponsored by Dragonfly Books at 112 W. Water St., Decorah and is free and open to the public.


We'll Fly Away Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062494276
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 8th, 2018

A National Book Award longlist title!

“A compelling and raw story.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“[Bliss dares] his readers not only to see the depths of human complexity, but to care.”—Booklist (starred review)


Meet Me Here Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062275387
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 31st, 2016

In a single night—graduation night—Thomas has to decide: do what everyone has always expected of him, or forge an entirely new path? Bryan Bliss’s absorbing examination of one boy struggling with expectations and realities will appeal to readers of Sara Zarr and Chris Crutcher.


No Parking at the End Times Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062275417
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - February 24th, 2015

Abigail's parents believed the world was going to end. And—of course—it didn't. But they've lost everything anyway. And she must decide: does she still believe in them? Or is it time to believe in herself? Fans of Sara Zarr, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell will connect with this moving debut.