Midwest Connections


Midwest Connections promotes books of Midwest regional interest or authors who live in our region.  Midwest Connections gathers the best of publishers’ frontlist books that have a connection to the Midwest, and include adult fiction and non-fiction (particularly memoirs, history, or current affairs); cookbooks; and children's books.

Catapult: Stories Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781946448057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sarabande Books - October 10th, 2017

"Fridlund writes of families, marriage, and childhood as if our received wisdom--what we thought we knew about life and love and family--needs reparation. This is fiction as excavation, peeling away the machinery of people and converting it to narrative.


La La La: A Story of Hope Cover Image
By Kate DiCamillo, Jaime Kim (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780763658335
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - October 3rd, 2017

Conceived by Kate DiCamillo and featuring enchanting illustrations by Jaime Kim, this nearly wordless graphic story follows a little girl in search of a friend.


Mice Skating Cover Image
By Annie Silvestro, Teagan White (Illustrator)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781454916321
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sterling Children's Books - October 3rd, 2017

This mouse doesn't want to stay in the house . . . even if it's cold outside


The Sioux Chef's Indigenous Kitchen Cover Image
$34.95
ISBN: 9780816699797
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University of Minnesota Press - October 10th, 2017

Here is real food--our indigenous American fruits and vegetables, the wild and foraged ingredients, game and fish. Locally sourced, seasonal, "clean" ingredients and nose-to-tail cooking are nothing new to Sean Sherman, the Oglala Lakota chef and founder of The Sioux Chef.


Things I'm Seeing Without You Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735228047
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - October 3rd, 2017

Fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and All the Bright Places will laugh and cry as they read this heartbreaking and life-affirming novel about love after the most profound loss.


The World of Laura Ingalls Wilder: The Frontier Landscapes That Inspired the Little House Books Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781604697278
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Timber Press (OR) - September 20th, 2017

"For gardeners, botanists, and fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder, this book looks at the beloved Little House on the Prairie author's relationship to nature." --Publishers Weekly


Danger, Man Working: Writing from the Heart, the Gut, and the Poison Ivy Patch Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780870208409
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wisconsin Historical Society Press - August 15th, 2017

"Every writer has advice for aspiring writers. Mine is predicated on formative years spent cleaning my father's calf pens: Just keep shoveling until you've got a pile so big, someone has to notice. The fact that I cast my life's work as slung manure simply proves that I recognize an apt metaphor when I accidentally stick it with a pitchfork. . . .


Are You Sleeping Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501157660
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - August 1st, 2017

Serial meets Ruth Ware's In A Dark, Dark Wood in this inventive and twisty psychological thriller about a mega-hit podcast that reopens a murder case--and threatens to unravel the carefully constructed life of the victim's daughter.

The only thing more dangerous than a lie...is the truth.


Don't Call Us Dead: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977856
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - September 5th, 2017

Finalist for the National Book Award for Poetry

" Smith's] poems are enriched to the point of volatility, but they pay out, often, in sudden joy."--The New Yorker


Quiet Until the Thaw Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780735223349
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - June 27th, 2017

The debut novel from the bestselling author of Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight and Leaving Before the Rains Come.


Tornado Weather Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250079572
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - July 11th, 2017

"Dark and dangerous and strange and wonderful...Kennedy writes with the gritty poetry of Daniel Woodrell and misfit sensibility of Flannery O'Connor." --Benjamin Percy


Every Kind of Wanting Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781640090040
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Counterpoint LLC - August 15th, 2017

Finalist for the 2016 Chicago Review of Books Award
"Urgent and stirring." --Laila Lalami, Pulitzer Prize finalist for The Moor's Account