Midwest Connections


Midwest Connections promotes books of Midwest regional interest or authors who live in our region.  Midwest Connections gathers the best of publishers’ frontlist books that have a connection to the Midwest, and include adult fiction and non-fiction (particularly memoirs, history, or current affairs); cookbooks; and children's books.

The Adventures of Form and Content: Essays Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977610
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - January 3rd, 2017

An astounding work of doubles by Albert Goldbarth, a dazzling virtuoso who can break your heart (Joyce Carol Oates)


World, Chase Me Down Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143111474
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually Arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - January 24th, 2017

A rousing, suspenseful debut novel--True Grit meets Catch Me If You Can--based on the forgotten true story of a Robin Hood of the American frontier who pulls off the first successful kidnapping for ransom in U.S. history


Goodbye to the Dead Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781681443065
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quercus Books - February 7th, 2017

Detective Jonathan Stride's first wife, Cindy, died of cancer eight years ago, but her ghost hangs over Stride's relationship with current lover, and fellow detective, Serena Dial. When Serena witnesses a brutal murder outside a Duluth bar, she stumbles onto a case with roots that go all the way back to the last year of Cindy Stride's life.


History of Wolves Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780802125873
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - January 3rd, 2017

"So delicately calibrated and precisely beautiful that one might not immediately sense the sledgehammer of pain building inside this book. And I mean that in the best way. What powerful tension and depth this provides "--Aimee Bender


A Crack in the Sea Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399545191
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 3rd, 2017

An enchanting historical fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Thanhha Lai's Newbery Honor-winning Inside Out and Back Again


Voices in the Stones: Life Lessons from the Native Way Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781608683901
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: New World Library - December 13th, 2016

Native Americans are lauded for their profound spirituality and deep understanding of the land. Kent Nerburn here draws on his three decades living and working among Native peoples to offer stories and reflections that reveal what the ways of Native Americans have to teach us all about giving, sharing, grieving, and celebrating.


Chowgirls Killer Party Food: Righteous Bites & Cocktails for Every Season Cover Image
$22.95
ISBN: 9781551526454
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually Arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Arsenal Pulp Press - October 4th, 2016

With an eye for style and appreciation for seasonal ingredients, the proprietors of Chowgirls Killer Catering, one of the Midwest's leading catering companies, share their inspired ideas for delicious appetizers, small plates, and cocktails that are perfect for home entertaining.


The Annie Year Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781939419965
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Unnamed Press - October 11th, 2016

Tall, trusted Tandy Caide, CPA, is a long-time patron of the arts in her town, which is why you will find her sitting in the front row of the high school's annual musical production. This year is an Annie yearand it would be no different than other years were it not for the high school's hiring of a new vocational agriculture (Vo-Ag) teacher.


Great Plains Indians Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780803269620
Availability: Not On Our Shelves. Usually Arrives in 1-5 Days
Published: Bison Books - September 2016

David J. Wishart's Great Plains Indians covers thirteen thousand years of fascinating, dynamic, and often tragic history.